Eco Design Business

heroin and cornlakes blog
 Heroin and cornflakes


Trek Lime Bike Wins the 2009 People’s Design Award


The Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum presented its fourth People’s
Design Award to the Trek Lime bicycle Thursday, Oct. 22, at its 10th annual National Design Awards
gala in New York. Tyler Florence, host of Food Network’s “Tyler’s Ultimate,” announced the winning
design and presented the award to Hans Eckholm, senior industrial designer for Trek Bicycles.
After thousands of votes were cast during the course of one month on Cooper-Hewitt’s Web
site, the Lime―a coasting bike designed for the casual rider interested in biking for recreation and
convenience purposes―emerged as the public’s favorite design.

Aimed at the 65 percent of Americans who do not currently own or ride a bike, the Lime
features a coasting drive system (a three-speed automatic shift with push-back brakes) combined with
an upright riding position and virtually maintenance-free mechanics. The coasting system was
developed based on research findings by innovation and design firm IDEO and components
manufacturer Shimano.

The Lime is manufactured by Trek Bicycle Corp. An ideal urban commuting
bike, the Lime bike is available in three sizes and features a storage saddle.
“More people on the road with two tires, rather than four, is a big step toward a greener city
and world. I’m delighted that the public has chosen to honor the Lime bike,” said Caroline Baumann,
acting director of the museum. “Cooper-Hewitt is committed to sustainable and socially responsible
design through its exhibition and education programs, and it recently partnered with New York’s

Department of Transportation on the CityRacks competition to design a new sidewalk bicycle rack.”
Marianne Cusato, designer of the Katrina Cottage, was selected as the first People’s Design
Award winner in 2006. Toms Shoes, a company that gives away a pair of shoes to a child in need for
every pair sold, received the award in 2007, and the Zōn Hearing Aid took home the award in 2008.


Designer bike furniture